Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Namaste! Firstly, I’d like to thank all of you for appreciating my work so far. It’s a huge boost to the morale! Now this post, in particular is quite special to me. This is the first time I’m collaborating with an Indian designer from my hometown Ahmedabad and the feeling is ethereal!

I came across the label Rutbaa on Instagram and I was immediately attracted towards the sheer brilliance that I saw in front of me! It was later on that I came to know that the designer of this label, Kalgi is from Ahmedabad itself and I couldn’t be more proud to see such amazing talent coming from my own city! Speaking about her label, Kalgi says that Rutbaa is all about celebrating the essence of a woman by showcasing upcoming latest silhouettes in wearable, sustainable version. The label focuses on the amalgamation of modern silhouettes with Indian textiles molded in a way where comfort and practicality steps in and makes it an easy every day wear ensemble.

It is an absolute delight to see such young Indian designers going back to roots and promoting Indian artisans and their creativity which seemed to have been forgotten until recently. That is exactly what Rutbaa’s latest collection SHIBORI is all about. It is an all organic khadi collection laying stress on the importance of Indian prints and art work.

Here, I’m sporting a simple yet very elegant Shibori maxi dress from her current collection in the shade of yellow ochre. I absolutely love the earthy tone and texture of this maxi dress. It is super flowy, light weight and breezy which makes it perfect for the summers! Also I love the detailing at the back with contrast blue thread work loops. The Indianness (from my own dictionary) erupts whenever I’m sporting anything with Indian prints or textile! Hence, I styled this absolutely lovely Shibori print maxi dress with Golden jhumkas, anklet, beaded neckpiece which I wore as a hand-harness and Kolhapuri chappals! Going with the theme of the outfit, I kept my look earthy with smokey eyes and nude lips and but obvious my patent Bindi!! I thoroughly enjoyed shooting for this look and I believe it is pretty evident from the pictures that you are about to see. I’d like to also thank my photographer Kanisha Modi, who has played a really important role in my journey so far! Thank you for believing in my work and portraying my vision through pictures! We shot this look at my best friend’s farmhouse at Nalsafari about 50 kms away from Ahmedabad! We couldn’t have found a better place to shoot this look at!!

Hope y’all like this look! Please check out Rutbaa by Kalgi for minimalistic yet stunning garments! The details are down below as always!

Lots of love!

Shibori print dress: https://www.facebook.com/RutbaabyKalgi

Jhumkas and anklet: exhibition from Ahmedabad

Kolhapuri chappals: Colaba market (Mumbai)

Photo credits: Kanisha Modi

Simran xx

You’re Vogue Amigo ❤

6

7

9 (1)

1 (1)

3 (1)

RMP_1466

5

8

4 (1)

10

15

 

