Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What do you imagine when you first hear the word Gypsy? Bohemian, nomadic people dressed in clothes that have a beauty of their own. A hint of mystery surrounds the appeal of gypsy fashion, possibly because gypsies are quite mysterious themselves!

The portrayed style of gypsies has included flowing skirts, loose blouses, leather vests, tassels, fringes, big hats and loads of jewellery! I’ve been fascinated and intrigued with the gypsies dressing for the longest time! Its raw, earthy and yet sensual in some way. However, to infuse this culture in the modern world, gypsy fashion has evolved tremendously!

So, in this post I’m going to display my version of the alluring soul of a gypsy woman! A typical gypsy woman would wear a long skirt with a peasant top with a corset or bustier over it to highlight the figure. Since, this ensemble is for the modern woman, a toned down version is necessary to bring it up-to-date. Hence, I decided to style a plain solid black poncho from the e-commerce site Stalkbuylove.com with a bold red tulle- skirt. What I love about this poncho is the fringes present at the hem all over which makes the look pretty boho-gypsy’ish! (Is that even a word? :p) I added a narrow belt to the poncho which clinches at the waist, showing-off the waistline. The flowy effect of the tulle skirt adds oodles of oomph to the look. I accessorized the ensemble with a fedora hat and sand coloured suede ankle length booties giving me the much desired look that I was hoping for! I knowingly refrained from adding any jewellery since I wanted the ensemble to do all the talking! But that is totally a personal choice!

I’d like to make a special mention about the highbrow behind the images that you all are about to see! I came across Muktesh’s Instagram feed ORIONS while randomly going through someone else’s profile and I was completely blown away by what I saw. His images displayed bare emotions. I was mesmerized by the nuances captured by him in ever frame and I secretly wished to work with him someday. One fine day, I received a message from him saying that he would like to work with me and I was delighted at this prospect! He is probably one of the most creative and patient people I’ve met with an eye for capturing details. His images have a narrative of their own! We’ve so far worked on four stories and I’m hoping to work with him in future.

Hope y’all liked my take on the soul of a modern gypsy woman as much as I did while making it!

Black poncho with fringes – http://www.stalkbuylove.com

Red tulle skirt – http://www.redcarpetind.com/

Fedora hat – http://www.forever21.com

Narrow black belt- http://www.zara.com

Suede ankle length booties- Ahmedabad

Photo credits – https://www.instagram.com/ori0ns

Simran xx

You’re Vogue Amigo ❤

watermarked-DSC_0578

watermarked-DSC_0577

watermarked-DSC_0570

watermarked-DSC_0569

watermarked-DSC_0587

watermarked-DSC_0590

watermarked-DSC_0598

watermarked-DSC_0596

watermarked-DSC_0620

watermarked-DSC_0573

 

 

 

