Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh haiii Amigos!! Wishing all of you a very very happy new year! May this year bring abundance of love and luck into your lives!!!

This post being the first blog story in 2016, needed to be very special and what could be more special than honouring that one person who is very close to the bride! That one person who clearly becomes the bride’s shadow and is standing by her side at all times. Yes! I’m talking about the quintessential Bridesmaid. Although Indian weddings do not have the tradition of having a bridesmaid but a number of Indian brides like the idea of having them at their weddings. There are many ceremonies in Indian weddings, where bride’s sister or a close female friend plays an important role and these roles surely create an option for having a bridesmaid.

Since the bridesmaid has an extremely important part to play in the wedding, its essential that she is dressed appropriately. What I mean by appropriately is that she needs to look dazzling without taking away the attention from the bride!

Hence, I’ll decode looks for a bridesmaid in all the functions of a typical Indian wedding!

Since there is a lot of “naach-gaana” involved, I decided to go with some Indo-western looks this season. In the first series of pictures, I’ve styled a blood red, full sleeves crop top with dhoti pants by Mandira Wirk that I purchased from one of the best e-commerce sites for high-end fashion called Exclusively.com and styled the ensemble with a gold studded velvet black jacket passed on to me by my mother. Now you know where I get my taste in fashion from! The collared jacket makes the look so spunky! I love how the dhoti drapes my legs and the red piping on the edges adds the perfect contrast. I accessorized my look with these gorgeous earrings from Ae-tee designs and a hand harness that I purchased from an exhibition in Ahmedabad. I kept the makeup traditional with bright red lips, kohled-eyes and a red bindi. I finished the look with a golden envelope clutch and black strappy sandals!!

IMG_8057 copy

IMG_8063

IMG_8064 copy

IMG_8078 copy

IMG_8081 copy

IMG_8088 copy

IMG_8091

IMG_8120

Black Dhoti pants – http://www.exclusively.com

Red Crop top – Some online site that I dont remember

Velvet black jacket – passed on to me by mum

Strappy heels – http://www.forever21.com

Earrings – http://www.aeteedesigns.com

Hand harness – exhibition in Ahmedabad

Photo credits – Kanisha Modi

Ok so I’m also posting all my looks at the number of weddings I attended in the last 2 months which will give an insight to all the bridesmaids on what to wear!!

20151118_110013

This is what I wore at the first wedding I attended in Delhi. Electric blue is one such color which will always be in trend and looks extremely regal! The thread work done on the kurta makes the ensemble rich! I paired this blue kurta with beige pants. Since it was a day wedding , I kept the makeup very basic with a little colour on the lips. This dress was given to me by my lovely mother-in-law.

Sandals : http://www.metroshoes.net

Handbag : Kate Spade

Sunnies : http://www.charlesandkeith.com

20151203_190923

Peach has been my current favorite this season! I wore this beautiful peach floor length gown as a dress for a wedding reception in Delhi and added a same colored dupatta with it. I added these lovely chandbalis to the attire and accessorized it with a golden clutch. The dress material is from chandni chowk which is in Delhi and I got it stitched in Ahmedabad.

20151206_110937

There is no other garment sexier than the quintessential Saree! I absolutely love adorning the nine yards and make it a point to wear it in Indian weddings! You can never go wrong with a gold and red combination. Its perfect for weddings and best suited for Indian skin tones.  I wore this beautiful Saree to a cocktail night in Delhi. This saree has sequence work done on it and its perfectly balanced with the red velvet halter blouse that I’m wearing.

IMG_20151120_001551

Jacket-kurtas and dhoti pants are so in trend right now! For a sangeet ceremony in the gorgeous city of Jaipur, I styled this gorgeous golden jacket kurta with my favourite dhoti pants by Mandira Wirk and teamed the ensemble with the most awesome juttis from Needledust.

Jacket kurta : Delhi

Dhoti pants : Mandira Wirk

Juttis : http://www.needledust.com

photo_org

This has to be one of my favorite sarees mainly because of the eclectic combination of green and violet! I wore this saree for my husband’s cousin brother’s Shagun ceremony in Ludhiana, Punjab. The entire saree is of net with intricate work and some patches of velvet detailing. The border of this Saree has small, delicate beads on it.  Although it was pretty heavy and I had a little trouble handling it, its by far one of the most elegant sarees I’ve seen in a while! This saree is yet again from Delhi!!

2015-12-19_20.21.35

Last but definitely not the least!!! I went slightly out of my comfort zone and styled this stunning peach lehenga and golden blouse with the equally gorgeous collared peach cape by the Mumbai based designer Harsh Gupta, giving a little modern touch to the otherwise traditional Indian attire! I wore this indo-western ensemble for my husband’s brother’s sangeet ceremony. I wore my hair sideways and put them in a bun and styled this look with this absolute head turner Passa that was gifted to me in my own wedding. It surely made me feel like a Moghul empress and at the cost of sounding immodest, I was complimented quite a few times!

Collared peach cape : Harsh Gupta (instagram account – officialharshharsh)

Lehenga – custom made in Ahmedabad

Hope I’ve managed to throw some light at the kind of attire all you lovely bridesmaids can opt for at your closest’s wedding!

Would love to know your thoughts on my first post in 2016!!

Lots of love

You’re Vogue Amigo ❤

Simran xx

