Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With Diwali approaching, the festive season is reaching its fervour and how! Its time to go shopping and splurge! Wear your best attire and flaunt it!

The general norm during festivals is to stick to traditional Indian attire. I too agree to this since wearing a traditional attire helps in keeping the essence  of the festival alive!

However, the story of festive Indian wear is undergoing a rewrite. For the young and daring, the sky is the limit when it comes to expressing their individuality.  As much as I love wearing my kurta-patialas and anarkalis (and I’ll always wear them!) I also enjoy experimenting with my desi avatars as you may have seen in my previous post on Navratri!

Likewise, this Diwali, I wanted to stay away from the cliched Indian look and try something different. I was racking my brains in search of an attire which was contemporary yet would have an Indian appeal to it! That is when I came across the label Kalki Design Studio by Karunya Rajan and bam! I just knew I’d hit jackpot!

KALKI is all about minimalism, clean cuts, class and elegance! Their intention is to bring out a contemporary edge to our ancient and longstanding weaves. They stand deep rooted to our traditional textile crafts and handwoven fabrics.  I sent a mail to Karunya, the owner of the label and we decided to work upon a collaboration. I had a tough time selecting a garment from her label because each garment was brilliant in itself! Just then, I came across this absolutely gorgeous floral maxi dress in beige.  By now you know that I’m a floral baby! What really caught my attention was the fabric used in this dress. It’s raw silk and I love how beautifully it falls on the body.  Its flowy, elegant and opulent! KALKI does absolute justice to its motto and I couldn’t be happier to get my hands on this dress and style it. So, if you’ll are looking to stay away from bling and yet look grand and classy, Kalki Design Studio is your savior!

I styled this dress with a baby pink cape creating a juxtaposition of the traditional and the modern world. I accessorized the look with a pair of delicate and stunning filigree earrings in gold studded with green onyx that I purchased from the famous jewellery label Aaraa by Avantika! Just like Kalki Design Studio, Aaraa too believes in creating handcrafted statement jewellery pieces with interplay of ethnic and modern ideas! Each piece is unique in itself and I’ve become a huge fan of their work!

Its such an overwhelming feeling to see these designers promoting ancient Indian art with so much love! Kudos to them!!

I completed my look with my favorite pair of brown suede pointy brogues from Zara.  Yes brogues! coz I don’t do normal :p

I kept the makeup light considering its a day look, adding my patent  Bindi to it and voila! I’m all set to rock this Diwali!

I’ve loved styling and shooting for this look and I hope you’ll like it as well! Would love to hear your thoughts on it! Happy diwali amigos! 😀

Floral silk maxi dress : http://www.facebook.com/kalkistudio

Filigree earrings: http://www.facebbok.com/aaraabyavantika

Baby pink cape : http://www.jabong.com

Brown suede brogues : http://www.zara.com

Photo credits : Kanisha Modi

Simran xx

You’re Vogue Amigo ❤

IMG_7019 copy

IMG_7028

IMG_7021

IMG_7022 copy

IMG_7036 copy

IMG_7031

IMG_7029

IMG_7037 copy

IMG_7046 copy

IMG_7051

